Go To Home Page

Tag Archives: Saraswati

  • How Poompuhar is bringing life in traditional Indian Art?

    'Indian Art' is a term which encompasses various mediums and styles perfected over centuries by artisans and handicraft workers. Yet this ancient art form is somehow losing its prominence in society. Tamil Nadu Poompuhar aims to showcase those talents which have been unappreciated for long.

    The catrgories have been mapped out keeping in mind the varied artforms which have existed:

    What are our Metal offerings?

    Difficult to carve and yet a beauty to behold, the array of metal designs have been constructed and polished by superior craftsmen.

    The designs are available with antique polish and you can select from the collection like Reshabadevar Set, Boga Shakti, Arthanari, Shivalingam, Arthanarieshwar sets and much more.

    Arthanarieshwar Polish Shop For This Arthanarieshwar - Click Here

    Poompuhar offers Brass items as well, like Brass bowls, Brass Peacock Bead Stones, Brass Nataraj statues, Brass Uruli Weight, Brass Uruli Light Weight, Brass Coloured Weights and a lot more which you can browse through as well as choose from the official website.

    Wood: The most intricate style

    Wood carvings are richly detailed constructions and the products of Poompuhar are made with selected Rosewood, Sandalwood and more.

    They offer various wooden figures like that of the Buddha, Radha-Krishna, Ashoka Pillar and more. But apart from mythological and historical designs they also offer everyday handcrafted wooden products like clocks, pens etc.

    Shop For this White Wood Ashoka Pillar - Click Here

    What are our designs based on Stone?

    The most significant artwork of South India is undoubtedly that of the stone sculptures.  Thanks to the craftsmen of the Pallava Empire who had intricately crafted these stones to create some masterpieces which still enchant tourists from all over the world. The Indian culture and emotion is reflected in various Indian religious monuments dating back to time immemorial.

    To celebrate this achievement and promote its growth among the masses, they offer statues made out of granite, red stone, soap stone along with clay and much more. The life-size figurines and fountain sculptures speak a thousand words about the Indianness.

    Earthware -fragile and precious

    The most widely available type of crafts is the earthenware products like bowls, statues and more. The workers make various masterpieces out of clay and ceramic like that of Nataraj, Lakshmi, Parvati, Saraswati, Kalinga Krishna and more. These statues are available in oxidized variants as well.

    The designs available on Clothing and Leather

    Cloth and Leather Prints have been in use long and are still quite popular in traditional fashion. Keeping with the tradition Poompuhar offers handcrafted textiles like Kalamkari purse, lamp shades and lots more which can be browsed in our website.

    Paintings: What do we offer?

    Indian paintings speak of style and technique in a nuanced and yet simultaneously bold manner. The collection has paintings of the gods Krishna, Lakshmi, Ganesh along with others like Perumal and Ramar as well.

    If budget is not an issue for you, then check out the Thanjavur Paintings which are one of their Big Ticket items.

    Shop For Thanjavur Painting Perumal - Click Here

    Poomphar aims to reinstate traditional Indian art to the position of prestige it once enjoyed by showing its vitality to others. Appreciating and supporting these creations as well as their creators who are on the verge of losing their skills is the goal.

  • Nine Different Colours to Wear For Navratri This Year

    Navratri is a very popular festival celebrated all over India with much enthusiasm and excitement. It is a Hindu festival devoted to Goddess Durga who is a symbol of power and purity. Navratri means nine nights and on these nine nights and ten days, the nine forms of the Goddess or Devi are worshipped. However, most importantly three forms of Devi – Durga, Lakshmi, and Saraswati – are invoked. The festival is celebrated during Sharad – the beginning of winter. The nine-day festival culminated with Dussehra or Vijaydashmi on the tenth day.


    The festival is celebrated in different ways in different parts of the country but the underlying beliefs remain the same. Fasting, worshipping, and celebration mark the nine-day festival. In some parts of the country people sing, dance and celebrate throughout the night while in some places there is satsang and community worshipping.

    During Navratri, there is also a custom of wearing different coloured clothes on the nine days of navratri. Women adorn themselves with dresses and accessories in the specific colour for the day. Women wear the same coloured sarees, salwars kurtas, Chaniya cholis, etc during the Navratri days. This kind of a coloured custom is generally seen in parts of Gujarat and Maharashtra. From the dresses to jewellery to the footwear to even the dandiya sticks are matched to the colour of the day.

    The first colour to be worn during Navratri is determined based on the weekday when Navratri starts and the rest of the eight days follow a fixed cycle of colours. The nine colours for navratri 2015 are

    Day 1:  Red colour

    First day of Navratri is called as 'Ghatasthapana'. On this day Goddess Shailaputri is worshipped and the colour to be worn is red.

    Day 2: Royal Blue colour

    Second day of Navratri is called Dwitiya and on this day 'Goddess Brahmachari' is worshipped and the colour devotees should wear is Royal Blue.

    Day 3: Yellow colour

    Third day of Navratri or Tritiya is dedicated to 'Devi Chandraghanta’ who symbolizes meditation and spirituality. Devotees wear Yellow coloured attire.

    Day 4: Green colour

    On the fourth day, 'Goddess Kushmanda- the creator of the universe’ is worshipped. Green represents the colour of this day.

    Day 5: Gray

    On the fifth day of Navaratri, 'Goddess Skandamata' is worshipped. The colour for the fourth day is Gray

    Day 6: Orange

    Goddess Durga’s sixth incarnation, 'Goddess Katyayani’ is worshiped on the sixth day of Navratri and the devotees can wear Orange colour attire on that day.

    Day 7: White

    Goddess Kaalratri is the seventh incarnation of Goddess Durga, and is worshipped on the seventh day of Navrartri. White is the colour that denotes the significance of this day.

    Day 8: Pink

    Goddess Maha Gauri is worshipped on the eighth day of Navratri and she represents kindness, forgiveness, and morality. Pink is the colour for this eighth day.

    Day Nine: Sky Blue

    On the last day of Navratri, the Goddess of supernatural power 'Devi Siddhidatri' is worshipped. On this day, sky blue colour is considered auspicious.

2 Item(s)