Go To Home Page

What We Sell at Poompuhar

When people think of Poompuhar, what immediately comes to their mind are the beautifully made Indian handicrafts that are loved by both Indians and foreigners alike. By Indians, because these handicrafts are small pieces of India’s rich cultural and religious heritage; and by foreigners because they are so intrigued by the intricacy and richness of these artistic products. Poompuhar is one of the few organizations that work with a genuine, bifocal aim - to promote the Indian culture and the work of artisans.

With this aim in mind, we train and nurture our artisans to produce a variety of creative products to suit the tastes of different kinds of audience.Our products are manufactured in production centers owned by the Tamil Nadu Development Corporation. Here’s a look at what we sell:

  • Bronze items

Our bronze items come in two finishes, i.e. antique and polish. Both are mostly statues of different gods and goddesses which make for high quality attractive gifting items.

Bronze items

Shop for this Kalingakrishna Antique Finish online at http://tnpoompuhar.org/tamil-nadu/bronze/antique-finish/kalingakrishna-antique-finish.html

  • Wood Carvings

Our exquisite range of woodcarvings are good to add that ethnic feel to your living room. From wooden panels to brackets and statues, these wooden items come in very innovative and intricate designs mostly with gods and goddesses as themes.

Wood Carvings

Shop for this Woodcarving Panel 3  at http://tnpoompuhar.org/tamil-nadu/wood-carvings/woodcarving-panels/woodcarving-panel3.html

  • Thanjavur paintings

This ancient art from south India, which originated in Thanjavur is one of the best gifting ideas, as well as for decorating your own house. Most of these paintings have a central god or goddess as a figure which is embellished with gems, glittering gold foils etc.

Thanjavur paintings

Shop for this Thanjavur Painting Karpaga Ganesh at http://tnpoompuhar.org/tamil-nadu/thanjavur-paintings/ganesh/thanjavur-painting-karpaga-ganesh.html

  • Brass items

Our extensive variety makes brass lamps as one of our most loved products. Besides lamps such asdeepam, hanging lamps and agal, other products such as cows, nataraja, peacock, ganesha, etc exude class in brass.

Brass Cow

Shop for this Cow With Calf Antique Finish at http://tnpoompuhar.org/tamil-nadu/brass/brass-cow/cow-with-calf-antique-finish.html

  • Stone work and Woodwork

Stone work is usually done in granite, soap or red stone with embellishments in white colour. Wooden handicraft items include lions, horses, elephants, Ashoka pillar and Buddha.

elephants

Shop for this Granite Stone Elephant at http://tnpoompuhar.org/tamil-nadu/stone/granite-stone/granite-stone-elephant.html

Woodwork

Shop for this Wooden Ashoka pillar online at http://tnpoompuhar.org/tamil-nadu/wood/ashoka-pillar/wooden-ashoka-pillar.html

  • Pithwork

Made from glass and stuck to a wooden base,this handicraft product usually has monuments and chariots as designs.Our pithwork products are miniatures showcasing popular facets of the Indian culture. These include the TajMahal, Kerala boats, Perumal temple, Thanjavur Temple and many others.

Pithwork

Leave a Reply